#NovBookstagram

So, I’ve not been doing this very long but I’m really enjoying getting involved with online readers! It’s such a shift in pace for me and Is keeping me so motivated with my reading (as well as with my writing!)

Who knew that such solace could be achieved through sharing something private?

I finished the ‘November Bookstagram’ challenge (by @pagewithaview and @readwithmikee) on the 30th November and am (in all honesty) super proud that I managed to last the month. I have a notoriously short attention span (that being said I do partially attribute it to my various attempts at diets and exercise regimens so who can honestly blame me?)

Anyway, keeping this post pretty short and relatively sweet (just like me) I wanted to sort of sum up my month by listing my favourite parts of my first month as one of the bookstagram crowd:

  1. Day 19: Everyone’s read it but you

One of my favourite elements of day 19 is the feeling I got from admitting that I wasn’t a part of something huge. For those of you that haven’t stumbled here through way of my Instagram I posted about how I hadn’t finished the Harry Potter books. The thought of losing all my lovely followers turned me white as a sheet that day, but Instagram’s finest book-glowworms shone their brightest and really helped me understand that whilst it’s all about inclusion, that doesn’t mean we’re all the same as one another, reading habits vary and it just shows that the intimate nature of person to book doesn’t get lost when we miss a trend or fancy something else instead. Plus that photo was taken whilst I was house-sitting for my sister so I got to play with kittens. Double-whammy fun times.

2. Keeping in touch with old friends

“Anyone who ever gave you confidence, you owe them a lot” – Truman Capote

In the interest of giving credit where credit’s due, the whole reason I’m here right now  -feeling all warm and fuzzy inside and surrounded by my wages in the form of freshly unwrapped tbr books – is because two of my favourite people were involved and encouraged me from the start, enough to get my typing and snapping pictures on a daily basis! If you’re on Instagram and you haven’t seen their stuff I implore you to give them more than a cursory glance; They’re fabulous (and I’m not just saying that because I love them.)

@booksnest (Beth)                                                &                          @dragonbabble (Kelly-Ann)

image2image1

3. Meeting new ones

I keep going on about how welcoming the reader population is on Instagram but I am truly not joking, through book tags, competitions and the bookstagram challenge I’ve met some truly kindhearted souls so shoutouts today to @shine_narvasa, @fanatical.fantasy, @bookslove_26 and @cait425 for pure sweetness.

So, if you’re an avid shadow-dweller on social media and blogs worldwide considering joining our ranks, I seriously dare you (but in the best way), it’s hard work but it’s rewarding and so much fun. You can dedicate as much or as little time to it as you have to spare and it is an absolutely magical thing to be a part of.

3 thoughts on “#NovBookstagram

Leave a Reply

